Small Hands

Small hands
Wispy hair
Gentle eyes
And a heart full of care.

She doesn’t fear me
As others do
She holds me
Her tiny body next to mine
She makes it an armor
For the lies
That this disease
Forces before my eyes;
She says she’ll protect me
From the monsters I see
And show my diseased mind
What is true.

A gentle kiss
From a gentle child
As she hums a lullaby
To help me bid
This world goodbye
And enter one with no fear;

I love her
For her innocent voice
Makes my demons disappear.

Leave a Reply

