Glory, Glory, No More Hallelujahs

Death comes
Sudden and inglorious.
Be it
A murmur of the heart
A tumor in the brain
Or
A bullet in the body
Causing you to
Bleed out
Cry
Shit yourself
And then expire.

So to hell with death
And all that comes with it
To hell with
Glory
And
Honor
On the battlefield.

I’ll die
Unarmed
I’ll die
Throwing my
Weapons on the ground
And
Letting my enemy
Slaughter me like the cattle I am
I’ll die
Making sure
That
No poem could be written about me
Making sure
That
No movie could be made about me
Making sure
That
No pundit couldn’t mention me in
Faux Mourning

I’ll surrender
Just to
Spit in the face
Of all
Glory hounds
Fascist flag wavers
And
Right wing pundits.

To hell with
Dignity
And grace
In the hospital.

I’ll die
Raging
I’ll die
Yelling
Obscene lyrics
Disgusting odes
And
Unheard vulgarities.

I’ll give the poor bastards working there
A final breathe worth talking about
Not some
Mealy mouthed
Feel good
Bullshit.
Not something
That’ll make it into some
Young adult novel
Or
Inspirational movie
To be quoted
By
The morons
That are merging with an armchair
Or
Upper-middle class yuppies
That wish to feel
Without suffering consequences.

I’ll scream something
I don’t know what
But it’ll be something
Just
Something
So that they’ll
Know that
I was not here for them
But
In spite of them.

Leave a Reply

